The bad habits of a book worm

There are different type of readers, there’s the book hoarder, the ‘gets through a book each day’ reader, the ‘never seen without a book in their hand’ reader, the bedtime reader and the ‘I buy lots of books, then stupidly read multiple novels at once, gets confused with all the different storylines, then never seems to finish a book until they come back to it a couple of months later and don’t raise their head from the book until you close the back cover’ reader. This latter one is unfortunately me. This means that I own many books and get half way through they don’t get read as soon as I would like them to.

Due to this bad habit of mine I have been trying to snap out of it by holding back on buying any more books before I get caught up on the ones that I already own. Although this may be a bit of a *draw-dropping-moment* for those of you that love to have the latest book, it does mean that the books you are reading may be a little older and when you finish it you can recommend the book to a friend and they may never of heard of it. This makes it all the more satisfying when they adore the book!

So, what am I going to do about it, well I am going to read. Here’s a few book I need to start/finish before I will allow myself to buy anymore.

Eleanor & Park

The start of its review on Good Reads says Two misfits. One extraordinary love. From what I have already read of this about a year ago and 3/4 of the way through the book, I loved it! The characters were brilliant and the way that Rainbow Rowell writes reads very fluently. I just need to read the ending. I won’t give anything away, but all I would say is READ IT.

My Sisters Keeper

I am close to the end now, it is about a girl called Kate who has leukaemia and her sister, Anna that was born for the purpose of helping her sister with surgeries, transfusions and injections. Anna cant help but think what her life would be like without being tied to her sister’s. So she sues her parents for the rights to he own body. This book focuses on moral choices and is very tear jerking.

More books I need to read:

On the other side, The Miniaturist, Hunting Unicorns

I f you have the same bad habit of reading that I do I would suggest using this idea, also Good Reads has a goal tracker thing for reading every year.https://www.goodreads.com/

Thanks for reading, don’t forget to read, the good books are just waiting for you.

Leave a Reply

